Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
IBEW Local 557
Member Login


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?
<< October 2018 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Organize Today
Learn more about organizing your workplace!

Click Here




Gretchen Whitmer             Governor

Jocelyn Benson                  Secretary of State

Dana Nessel                       Michigan Attorney General

Debbie Stabenow               US Senate

Matt Morgan                        1st US Congressional Seat

Dan Kildee                           5th US Congressional Seat

Jerry Hilliard                       4th US Congressional Seat

Cynthia Luczak                   31st District State Senate

Phil Phelps                          32nd District State Senate

Eric Sabin                            85th Michigan House of Representatives

Dave Adams                        94th Michigan House of Representatives

Vanessa Guerra                   95th Michigan House of Representatives

Brian Elder                           96th Michigan House of Representatives

Sarah Schulz                        98th Michigan House of Representatives

Kristen Brown                     99th Michigan House of Representatives

Ruth Averill                          Saginaw County 1st District Commissioner

Trent Vondrasek                  Saginaw County 6th District Commissioner

Sheldon Matthews               Saginaw County 4th District Commissioner

Brenda Moore                       Saginaw City Council

Michael Balls                        Saginaw City Council

Jacob Hilliker                      Bay County Road Commissioner

Sam Bagenstos                    Michigan Supreme Court

Megan Cavanagh                 Michigan Supreme Court

Kelly Tebay                          Michigan State University Board of Regents

Brianna Scott                       Michigan State University Board of Regents

Paul Brown                          University of Michigan Board of Regents

Jordan Ackers                     University of Michigan Board of Regents

Anil Kumar                          Wayne State University Board of Regents

Bryan Barnhill                    Wayne State University Board of Regents

Tiffany Tilley                       Michigan State Board of Education

Judy Pritchett                     Michigan State Board of Education

Marcia Thomas                   Delta College Board of Trustees

Janice Collison                   Saginaw Township Schools Board Member

Vote “yes” on Proposals 2 & 3

Vote “yes” for Saginaw ISD Career and Technical Education Proposal (CTE)

Please support the candidates that best support us and our way of life.

Local 557 - 75 years 
of Quality Electrical Installation

On November 29, 1929 the Charter to Local Union 557 was granted and signed by: 

Fred A. Ross, W. J. Atherton, Winn Wilder, Richard Reinhardt, Alvin Darling, James Nolan, George D. Beck, Charles M. Berger, Conrad LaLonde, John R. Reams, Lester LaLonde, Charles Hendricks, Daniel Kearns, Murray Sills, Walter J. Behm, John Goodrich, and William C. Smelley.

The following facts were provided by the International Staff to the delegates at the October, 2006 International Convention in Cleveland, Ohio:

Saginaw, Michigan received their charter from the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers on November 21, 1929.  Prior to that three other cities were given the IBEW Local Union 557 designation, they were

            Ryolite, Nevada in 1907
            York, Pennsylvania in 1913
            Minot, North Dakota in 1916.

Saginaw had three other IBEW Local Union designations prior to being assigned its current 557 designation.  In 1895 Saginaw was Local Union 78, then in 1900 it was Local Union 145, and the last designation was Local Union 476 in 1913 before finally becoming Local Union 557 in 1929.

There also was an lineman local in Saginaw, Local Union 831 that was amalgamated with Local Union 17, of Detroit, in 1936.

 The other IBEW Local Union in our area was in Local Union 1288 in Caro, established in 1941 which ceased to exist in 1944.

    Support your local unions.

Contact Elected Officials!
IBEW Local 557
Copyright © 2018, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

Top of Page image